When Adding a New Source iFamily freezes!

If you are having difficulty using iFamily for Leopard.
eg: "How do I change someone's sex after they are married?
Post Reply
Bee
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 10:56 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

When Adding a New Source iFamily freezes!

Post by Bee » Tue Dec 21, 2021 12:37 am

No matter which computer I am using (all have the latest version of IFamily available for my Macs downloaded) when I try to add a new Source the Source Box freezes and the only way I can continue to work is to Force Quit, each time. Oddly, the Source I select is often saved once the App is active again.

Help, please! How do I get this Source facility functioning again.

Bee
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 10:56 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: When Adding a New Source iFamily freezes!

Post by Bee » Tue Jan 04, 2022 11:43 pm

I really need help. My Source box is just freezing after I make any additions that require the pop up, etc. A bell rings. Then the key functions all freeze and I must Force Quit to get the App functioning again.

Sigh.

Bee

NigelRichman
Posts: 274
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 7:12 pm
Location: Cornwall, England

Re: When Adding a New Source iFamily freezes!

Post by NigelRichman » Wed Jan 05, 2022 3:19 pm

Hi Bee,

I have just tested adding a Source on my Apple Silicon Monterey 12.1 MacBook Pro without any crash.

I wonder if something has gone wrong with your database.

Try creating a new database file with a few random people with dates of birth etc and then try to add a source or two.

If it works OK then I suspect the database. If not then it must be your installation - try reinstalling iFamily again.

It would help Warwick if you say which version of MacOS you are using

Hope you get it resolved,

Nigel

Bee
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 10:56 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: When Adding a New Source iFamily freezes!

Post by Bee » Thu Jan 06, 2022 3:36 am

Nigel, thanks!

I think you have hit on the problem. I have been trying to use my database with a laptop and a desktop Mac, each with different updates, neither of which can be upgraded.

I may have to go back to just using the laptop, though, to avoid the hassles of the big screen with the outdated Sierra version.

I think.

Thank you!

Post Reply