How do I make my family tree the default on opening

If you are having difficulty using iFamily for Leopard.
eg: "How do I change someone's sex after they are married?
Post Reply
BPpark
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 9:25 pm

How do I make my family tree the default on opening

Post by BPpark » Tue Aug 30, 2016 9:49 pm

After I upgraded from iFamily For Leopard, the program opens automatically loads the royal family and I have to click on the file menu to bring up my family tree. How can I make the program forget the royals and open mine by default?

Everything else seems to work as expected, it's just becoming a chore to get started and there doesn't seem to be a menu option for designating a particular data file as the default.

User avatar
Warwick Wilson
Site Admin
Posts: 442
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 12:36 am
Contact:

Re: How do I make my family tree the default on opening

Post by Warwick Wilson » Wed Aug 31, 2016 12:13 am

This is controlled by whatever is on the top of the list in the "recent file list", ie: the most recently opened file.

After opening iFamily, close all windows while leaving the program open. Then use File->Open... , this should place your tree at the top of the list when you look at the menu File->Open Recent-> . If it does not work, use the Clear Menu option and repeat the process.
Attachments
iFamily_ClearRecent.png
iFamily_ClearRecent.png (127.49 KiB) Viewed 857 times

BPpark
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 9:25 pm

Re: How do I make my family tree the default on opening

Post by BPpark » Wed Aug 31, 2016 3:38 am

Thanks, that worked!

Post Reply