Using iFamily with Dropbox

If you are having difficulty using iFamily for Leopard.
eg: "How do I change someone's sex after they are married?
jlmurphyiii

Using iFamily with Dropbox

Post by jlmurphyiii » Sun Nov 30, 2008 2:37 am

I'm using iFamily 2.500.

I would like to use iFamily with my desktop and my laptop, which I travel with. I would like to be able to put the essential data files in a "cloud" location like Dropbox, and then point each computer at that information. Is this possible? If so, what files would I have to put in Dropbox, and how do I let iFamily know where to look?

Thanks.
Roy

cdew

Post by cdew » Sun Nov 30, 2008 10:57 am

I'm no expert, but you can change the location of the iFamily data files by clicking File / Move Data Directory when there are no databases open.

That dialogue allows you to chose a folder to become the parent directory of the iFamily data, and it appears to also include mounted disks and networked computers. Of course you'd have to be careful if you selected a networked location, as iFamily would not be able to find your data if the networked location wasn't available. I'd find that a bit dicey. I guess you could choose a folder on the local copy of your iDisk, then set up a sync schedule on each machine, though.

Personally, I'm yet to get my head around the intricacies of syncing and I finally turned it off because it seemed to be a never-ending merry-go-round. When we went on a recent research trip with the Macbook, we just copied the data file and the Pictures & Reports folders from the Mac's iFamilyData folder to the iFamilyData folder on the Macbook before we left, then reversed the procedure and copied the same file & folders back to the desktop as soon as we got back home, before entering any data on the desktop. The downside of this method, of course, is that you have to make sure you've always got the most recent copy on the machine you're working on before you start entering any data.